My Miraculous May: Day 13

Ok. I really need to wean myself off daily blogging. To those lovely or sad ( take your pick) people that so kindly read my warblings if I don’t appear for a day or even two in true Arnie style – ‘I’ll be back!’

I am liking and embracing muchly my new found sobriety. I am engaging in conversation with a new clarity- sorry- what is that?

* turns head round to hear the music in cafe*

The background music is a bagpipe version of Ravels ‘Bolero’. FFS!!!

I am enjoying it though (the sobriety not the music)… today I am and I’m working really hard on enjoying the here and now.

A friend sent me a song from the band The Barenaked Ladies called ‘Alcohol’. It made me smile as I could see so much personal truth in some of the lyrics for me:

 Alcohol, my permanent accessory
Alcohol, a party time necessity
Alcohol, alternative to feelin’ like yourself

and

Would you please forgive me?
For while I cannot love myself
I’ll use something else

and

But now I know that there’s a time
And there’s a place where I can choose
To walk the fine line between
Self control and self abuse.

I am trying really hard to walk the fine line to me. The real me. And I hope she is waiting there with a warm smile, an open heart and a peaceful mind.

Oh and a nice cup of tea wouldn’t go a miss too.

Nighty night x

Ps day 43

Leave a Reply

