My Miraculous May: Day 18

After an afternoon of line learning for the Edinburgh Literary Pub Tour ( I know the irony- 48 days btw) with my friend Mark and trying and failing on many an occasion to speak “Scots ” without running the risk of sounding like a Sassanach ( no offence to my English readers and friends) I escaped to my favourite place Doctor Neil’s Garden. Now there probably is the assumption that if you’re born and bred in Scotland that the Scots language should just trip off your tongue but not with me. Must come from my “posh” Gillespie’s secondary schooling which coincidently is supposedly the school The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie is based on and who features in the tour. I am looking forward to it but my it’s a big learn. Anyway nothing like an hour at the end of the day in my favourite place. As I sat I made a new friend in the shape of this fellow

20140518-211833-76713829.jpg

He buzzed around the whole time and seemed quite content just being there. Bless his little stripy self. The garden has transformed so much since my last visit a couple of weeks ago. It is lush with colourful flowers and fresh leaves and plenty of the dreaded midges.

20140518-212435-77075130.jpg

I never truly appreciated nature as a child or young adult. Always opting to shut myself in my bedroom ( that was when my Nana wasn’t in it) and playing loud music. Now I yearn for nature. Like the plaque says down near the loch side:

‘I come into the peace of the wild things’

20140518-213522-77722792.jpg

I don’t know for sure but I am pretty confident in thinking that nature lives in the moment. I’m sure Mr Stripy doesn’t worry about having offended the ladybird last week or having sleepless nights about whether July and August will be profitable for nectar points. I can assure you Mr S if you last till September you can double them up for household goods 😊 Silly supermarket joke. I’m sure the bee wouldn’t get it.

Learning lines really is an odd thing. By using whatever works for you as an actor you manage to retain words in your head. The words spoken by someone else; usually someone not real. You go over them again and again and again but when you speak them you need to make them sound like it’s the first time you’ve ever said them. You need to be in the moment. You need to convince the audience, the other characters and yourself that this is happening here and now not something you’ve read and said a hundred times since 4 weeks before. Once you have them they tend to stick but once the performance ends for good you don’t need to retain them anymore and over time ( scarily not that long) the words fade away. There are some lines or speeches that never leave your mind. They are etched there forever. They tend to be from characters I really loved playing or felt that I had a connection with. You can quote them at the drop of a hat. Life is like that. Maybe it’s selective memory but something’s you will never forget or would want to. Granted there are certain memories we wish we could erase forever but there has to be a reason some never leave you for good or bad.

So  I sat there amongst the wild things. I remembered and the memory was good. I closed my eyes and listened to the sounds of nature and heard its voice. I breathed in the moist soft flora and tasted it on my tongue. I felt its breath as the gentle breeze caressed my cheek and moved through my hair. I felt it all around me. I felt content. I felt you.

Nighty Night x

Ps every day. Actress 😊

2 thoughts on “My Miraculous May: Day 18

  1. Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds. Also I am happy to find a lot of useful info here in the post, we need work out more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

