My Jubilant June: Day 13

First Thing: Friday the 13th. Ooh eck! Well I was born on Friday the 13th so what does that say? I can never quite work out if it means my date of birth cancels any negative stuff out of a day like today or if I get double helpings of crap. Well time will tell. I just need to avoid clapping my eyes on any lone magpies which strangely is the only superstition I have. Considering my soulful bond with the wild things I’m surprised these beautiful birds freak me out when I see one on their own. How does it go again:

‘One for sorrow,
Two for joy,
Three for a girl,
Four for a boy
Five for silver
Six for gold
Seven for a secret never to be told.’

If I totted up the time I waste desperately trying to locate another magpie (usually in vein) when my eyes have seen the one I could probably add another year on my life. Well maybe not a year. Six months! Ok three.

Later: So far so good and no catastrophes thus far however the spillage of around 300 loom bands earlier (the latest child craze) did provoke a personality change. They are not the easiest things in the world to pick up off the pavement and a dozen trips or so into the middle of a crossroads is not ideal or particularly safe.

20140613-175422-64462787.jpg

Before Bed: Anyhow I had made it back to my favourite place amongst the wild things whilst my two learned how to further their take over of the world by participating in taekwondo. Heaven help us! As I sat looking out over the water, my eyes heavy and frequently slapping some midgie (a down side of my favourite place) my mind wandered to a comment a friend said to me a few days ago. In reference to my not drinking alcohol they had said ” you need to get a life!” My immediate response being ” I’ve actually found a life!” Now it was said jokingly but it provoked a feeling in me that I am pretty sure I wouldn’t have felt before. Self assuredness. I didn’t feel the needed to justify my decision not to drink, or try to convince them that “I’m still fun!” or feel a sadness that I was missing out. I felt in control, content and totally justified in my decision.

So the time came for me to bid the wild things adieu and head back home to get the dinner on for the taekwondo twins return. So I made my way up towards the gate to return to the outside world and as I walked along the path a heard a fluttering commotion in the bushes to my left and before I could stop to take a look out it flew in front of me. It’s striking black, blue and white feathers, bright black eyes and shiny beak. A single magpie. You couldn’t bloody write it… well actually I just did. What did I do? Well I didn’t gesticulate madly to the gods for sending this godforsaken harbinger of doom my way like I usually would have done. No I looked at it, admired its beauty and said out loud ‘it’s a bird’. And it was just a bird, going about its business.

Just like alcohol is a choice so is superstition. I make the choices in my life not some lonely bird with a shiny object fetish. It’s all too easy to blame someone or something else when things don’t go how we would like them to and especially when we know it is in our power to change them. We can get so locked into defensiveness that we find ourselves stuck in the wrong choice when to admit we have misjudged something and decide to make a change can be both liberating and empowering.

Now touch wood and fingers crossed it won’t rain tomorrow.

Nighty night x

Ps 74 days

Leave a Reply

