My Delightful December: Day 28

I have found since April that writing this blog has really helped me focus and understand what my drinking patterns were and in turn develop self reflection not only in my alcohol abstinence but in my relationships with others particularly my children. Stopping drinking for me has strengthened existing bonds, helped new ones develop and given me the clarity of understanding to let go of others. I try to be as honest and open as I possibly can be because I feel that if I can’t be truthful with myself then I’m always going to be living a lie. I’m human, make mistakes and sometimes get things wrong like most of us. Today someone said this to me, ‘Away and fill your self indulgent blog in’. It got me thinking. Am I being self indulgent? Am I just attention seeking? I looked up the dictionary definition.

Self indulgent adjective – tending to indulge in ones own desires.
Self indulgence noun
Self indulgently adverb
Synonyms = extravagant, excessive, lavish, intemperate, immoderate, self gratifying.

British English: If you say someone is self indulgent, you mean that they allow themselves to have or do things that they enjoy very much.

If that is what my alcohol abstinence and blog writing is then I hope to be the most navel gazing woman in the world.

Nighty night x

Ps 271 days

Leave a Reply

