My Joyful January: Day 1

So we reached the final day of the year. There have been many events within the last twelve months some good some not so good, hellos and goodbyes, laughter and tears but for me a life changing event was reaching nine months of alcohol abstinence.
Hogmany was usually a night that was the green light to get as miraculous as I possibly could. I was brought up on it. On New Year’s Eve you got drunk. It’s what you did particularly in Scotland. Last year by 6pm I would have already have been on my third large Bombay Sapphire and tonic which would have been followed with copious amounts of Champagne and single malt whisky. That’s all well and good and let’s face most of us have all done it but I knew that this Hogmany as I settled down to a quiet night with the kids and a mug of tea that my abstinence was and is the right thing for me. I can’t answer for anyone else and most people are in control of their alcohol consumption for me it was heading a different path.

Over the last year I am thankful for my wonderful children who never cease to amaze me and keep my feet firmly on the ground. I am thankful that I have had the courage to be honest with myself, those I love and care about and even further afield to people I have never met. I feel blessed to have such wonderful people in my life who’s love, support, understanding and tolerance knows no bounds. In 2014 I started to live life with more clarity and found the strength to embrace just being me.

I wish everyone a fun, fulfilling and prosperous 2015. I am looking forward to starting a fresh year clear minded, free from the constraints of booze and know that where I am is where I am meant to be.

So nighty night 2014 and hello 2015 x

Ps 275 days

Leave a Reply

